VZW update coming through now

Status
Not open for further replies.

king_of_fools

Sep 14, 2010
Visit site
so the VZW update is coming through now, it downloaded but i deferred it, i want to know if its gonna be an issue at all that i'm rooted and have the lag fix and some of the original embedded .apk files changed to .apk.old so they don't show up.

anyone able to clear that up for me before i allow it to go through?

side note ... will this contain that promised GPS fix from Samsung ? I'm searching other threads for this info now but i figured i'd ask while i'm posting

K
O
f

Kevin Gossett

Retired Moderator
Sep 9, 2010
Visit site
You should be able to update just fine, but it will break your root so you will have to reroot once the update is finished. But you shouldn't hit any problems (at least I didn't)

good90033

Sep 15, 2010
Visit site
hello im new to rooting and im using a mac i saw the tutorial on how to root using a mac what i want to know is will i still be able to root using that same method after the update that came out? Can anyone please help answer that question for me it would be greatly appreciated.

TripSixes

Sep 14, 2010
Visit site
Not sure... but, this update did not remove "root" from my phone... the apps that rely on root access are still functioning just fine after the update...

I confirmed too that my Firmware version shows to be : 2.1-update1

so, it would appear that my update worked just fine without any need to re-root..

namebrandon

Sep 8, 2010
www.sunny16.org
Not sure... but, this update did not remove "root" from my phone... the apps that rely on root access are still functioning just fine after the update...

I confirmed too that my Firmware version shows to be : 2.1-update1

so, it would appear that my update worked just fine without any need to re-root..

Everyone's firmware version says 2.1-update1.

Kernel version, Build version or Baseband version is what you need to check.

TripSixes

Sep 14, 2010
Visit site