Samsung stifling Android 2.2 for Fascinate?

DroidDev

Superstar Status
Oct 5, 2010
Visit site
Sure just dont use my name or my likeness or I will rain down upon you the fury of 1000 suns. :)

Verizon told me the Fascinate will and my friendly friends over at Samsung said it will. They both also said that it will NOT get 2.3. All of the Galaxy S phones are samsung. They wont update one and not the other. It sucks waiting, I know...I came from the Eris. You could always sell it and come over to the Dark Side. I hear the Droid X community would love some more users. ;)

DroidDev

Superstar Status
Oct 5, 2010
Visit site
Nice one Phil. My question is though why would they have spent all the manpower, time, and money to make a stable 2.2 and not deliver it. I work in the development and testing field and from my experience that would be a huge waste of resources that can potentially cause a loss in revenue.

On the other hand I am inclined to call BS as well because the fact that Samsung would just NOT release it is beyond stupid. It would also be that they are waiting for the Vibrant 4G launch to be over before releasing 2.2 to these phones.

The comment in that tip that maybe we should file a class action is funny. Im still going to hold to my comment that 2.2 is coming. Never 2.3 thought.

Kevin Gossett

Retired Moderator
Sep 9, 2010
Visit site
2.2 has to be released. There is no way it won't. Samsung and Verizon sold OEM accessories that don't function fully without 2.2 support. End of story.

Oh, and 2.3 will get released too, just not officially ;)

Mad Jeep

Nov 3, 2010
Visit site
So where do I put my name to get on the list for the class action?

I am all for the class action. Just tell me where to put my name!

kalnel#WN

Oct 8, 2010
Visit site
I am all for the class action. Just tell me where to put my name!