Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default how to remove cwm completely

Im new to rooting. Before i root i would like to know how to remove cwm completely first. Ii searched but cannot find an answer. Can you guys help?

Default Re: how to remove cwm completely

When you want to go back to stock, you can always ODIN the stock rom, it will come with stock recovery, hence removing your CWM.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Okay. Thank you
  4. Thread Author  Thread Author    #4  

So odin will back up everything i need to do a complete factory restore? Or do i have to download those packages?

E: and how do i use odin to make a flashable backup? Anyone goy
    T a thread link for it or could you write it out?
  5. Thread Author  Thread Author    #5  

And i would like a backup without cwm and root. Can i do that with odin?

Quote Originally Posted by atvmainiac View Post
    And i would like a backup without cwm and root. Can i do that with odin?
    You need root to do any back up of ROMs.

If you are rooted, you could use ODIN to create backups:
    [HOW-TO]Create Custom ODIN Images for Backup/Restore - xda-developers
  7. Thread Author  Thread Author    #7  

If i flash the Stock-I500-VZW-System.tar.md5 will that unroot the phone
    Remove CWM and place the rom, kernal, and recovery all to factory stock?

And can i get an OTA update to ED04? or do i have to find a version of the ED04 rom to flash

If i flash the Stock-I500-VZW-System.tar.md5 will that unroot the phone
    Remove CWM and place the rom, kernal, and recovery all to factory stock?

And can i get an OTA update to ED04? or do i have to find a version of the ED04 rom to flash
    yes, it will bring all the way to 2.1 and you can do OTA to ED04.
  9. Thread Author  Thread Author    #9  

Sorry for so many questions.

It will flash the kernal back to stock as well?