[GUIDE] How To Unlock Bootloader and Root Verizon Galaxy Nexus

mclarryjr

Retired Moderator
Nov 2, 2009
Visit site
Re: [GUIDE] How To Unlock Bootloader and Root Verizon Galaxy Nexu

how can i get to the root explorer if the phone keeps looping? and where would the root explorer be? sorry i'm not too good with tech talk

root explorer is an Android application and if your in a bootloop like myself you won't be able to use it. I'm wait to see if upstream is able to push the stock file which should get us out this loop.

Reactions: panitsos

panitsos

Feb 6, 2011
Visit site

ok ty i'll keep refreshing this page for any new good news lol

panitsos

Feb 6, 2011
Visit site

ok guys this is what i did and it worked!! i went back to recovery and wiped data and cache, rebooted the phone and its fine now

Trantzz

Jul 20, 2010
Visit site

And for a question of my own. If i used this method to unlock the bootloader only, can I just skip to step 14 to root the phone or do I need to use another method to get root.

Was this answered? I have the bootloader unlocked but not rooted yet?

mclarryjr

Retired Moderator
Nov 2, 2009
Visit site

When I go into recovery I don't have any options to wipe or any other options :(

NewAge

Oct 6, 2010
Visit site

When I go into recovery I don't have any options to wipe or any other options :(

If you are brave try this:

From the command prompt pointing to the folder with fastboot.exe, adb.exe and stock images:

Exact commands:

adb reboot bootloader
Gnex will then reboot into bootloader screen
fastboot flash boot boot.img
fastboot flash system system.img
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
fastboot flash userdata userdata.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot oem lock
Use volume rocker to select ok and then Gnex will reboot.

You are now stock, locked and unrooted.

Kanged from Steady Hawkin.