Noob kernal ??

Apr 24, 2011
Visit site
ok im kinda new to to rooting and everything but i think i have flashing roms and how to flash a kernal down pretty much, but i flashed on CM 10 euroskank jellybro 804 but i was reading that for better battery life i should DL the trinity kernal but idk which one to flash because idk what ghz why cpu is and im just confused on how to find out prob a dumb question but im just lost there any help would be appreciated thanks in advance

PsYcHoNeWb

Feb 17, 2011
Visit site
ok im kinda new to to rooting and everything but i think i have flashing roms and how to flash a kernal down pretty much, but i flashed on CM 10 euroskank jellybro 804 but i was reading that for better battery life i should DL the trinity kernal but idk which one to flash because idk what ghz why cpu is and im just confused on how to find out prob a dumb question but im just lost there any help would be appreciated thanks in advance

Once you hear the explanation its going to turn a light on lol. If you are new to kernels, I would only recommend flashing the stable versions for now. But here is what they mean.

This is what a standard trinity kernel filename looks like:
TNP1420-307-JB-STABLE35

Okay, the TNP is just the name and will appear on all builds.

1420 is max clock of the CPU it will allow. All Trinity kernels will allow you to run 301-684-1034-1134 (or something close to those numbers not 100% sure off the top of my head but the standard slots for most kernels) and then the final speed which is the the number on the file name. Stock clock for the nexus is 1200 but trinity has overclocks of 1344, 1420 and 1536. This will be the final slot you can run your CPU at (overclocked obviously). However, if you pick lets say the 1420 kernel, you won't get the 1344 slot. It will go right from 1134 to 1420.