Group Text Messaging for JB - ACHIEVED!

playa1257

Jul 16, 2011
Visit site
I have just finished testing my modifications to the framework and MMS apk to enable Group Texting similar to the iPhone.

I am VERY new to JAVA / Android / Git / Gerrit and I am learning as I go along. I am working on submitting the code to AOSP right now but if there is anyone that would like to incorporate the modified java classes for their ROM, as soon as possible, I will gladly work with you in making that happen.

I have modified the android-4.1.1_r4 branch from AOSP and only tested it on my own toro/GNex. I lack resources and time to test on any other device, but you are welcome to do so.
EDIT: Also check post #13 below for changes to mmssms.db schema.

device-2012-09-09-224659.jpgdevice-2012-09-09-224740.jpgdevice-2012-09-09-225004.jpgdevice-2012-09-09-225016.jpgdevice-2012-09-09-225038.jpg

https://github.com/vivekvasani

changes have been committed to "jb-release" branch

12/05/12:

Thank you guys for your support. The community is amazing.

I apologize for the absence. I have been putting allllll my efforts in finding a job, and have finally got one.

A quick update:

I was never able to get my virtual machine to play nicely with gerrit (especially Google's gerrit), but invisiblek has done me HUGE favor and submitted the code to cyanogenmod's gerrit for review.

After a few rounds of review the gerrit patch on CM was abandon, due to the fact that the patch will be native in AOSP 4.2

There are many 3rd party ROMS that have the patch included hopefully many more to come.

- Vivek Vasani

Last edited:

anon(596177)

Dec 14, 2011
Visit site
I have just finished testing my modifications to the framework and MMS apk to enable Group Texting similar to the iPhone.