[LINUX GUIDE for NOOBS] Rooting, Unlocking, Locking and Flashing

ohiomoto

Oct 31, 2011
Visit site
Let me say this first:
I AM NOT A UNLOCKING, ROOTING, ROM'ing, LINUX EXPERT. WHAT YOU DO TOO YOUR PHONE IS YOUR PROBLEM.

This guide is for Linux users that want to use their favorite OS to work with their phone. The information found here can be found elsewhere on the Internet, but it did take a little work to dig it up so I figured I would put together a guide that that a noob should be able to follow. Please keep in mind, that I'm a noob also. I am a programmer by trade and I have used Linux for several years now, but I don't claim to be an expert. I should be able to help with minor problems, but you need to follow the steps here exactly as I'm just compiling the best sources I could find. I will cite those sources so that you can check them out for yourself.

THE GUIDE
1) Installing the Android SDK/ADB/Fastboot on Linux (64-bit Lubuntu 11.10 in this case).
2) How to Unlock and Root your Galaxy Nexus.
3) How to return your Galaxy Nexus to Factory Sate.
4) User Issues and Workarounds.*

*Here is the best part, I will try to keep a list of user Issues and Workarounds!

This is where you can help. If you are having an issue that is not solved with one reply, please put it in another thread and post the link here. I will post the link here so that others can use it to help you. Once you are sure your problem is solved, simply mark that thread solved. This way the discussion, progress and solutions can stay on topic in that thread and it will be easier for you and others to follow. If you end up solving the problem within this thread, please post a summary of the problem and the solution and I will put a link to that post so that others can find it.

Doing this will make this thread more useful because other users won't have to dig through pages and pages of replies to see if someone else had the same problem as you did. Think of it as paying it forward.