Flashing Redemption ROM with 4.0.4 update

mikekrafick

Feb 7, 2012
Visit site
I recently unlocked and rooted my vzw galaxy nexus. I flashed the 4.0.4 OTA update last week. Iwant to try Redemption ROM. Will that screw up my 4.0.4 update. I am new at this, any help is appreciated.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Android Central Forums

anon(596177)

Dec 14, 2011
Visit site
I recently unlocked and rooted my vzw galaxy nexus. I flashed the 4.0.4 OTA update last week. Iwant to try Redemption ROM. Will that screw up my 4.0.4 update. I am new at this, any help is appreciated.

The redemption ROM does not install itself on top of the version of android you have on your phone, it completely replaces it. Whatever version of android that redemption uses (im going to assume the LEAKED 4.0.4 from a few months ago) is going to be the version of Android you will be running, so really if you are going to flash now that you have received the OTA, waiting for the OTA was a moot point.

The good thing is the devs will be incorporating this new OTA into their ROMs shortly, so waiitng for an updated ROM shouldnt be too long.

Reactions: dmmarck

_JKK_

Feb 10, 2010
Visit site
The redemption ROM does not install itself on top of the version of android you have on your phone, it completely replaces it. Whatever version of android that redemption uses (im going to assume the LEAKED 4.0.4 from a few months ago) is going to be the version of Android you will be running, so really if you are going to flash now that you have received the OTA, waiting for the OTA was a moot point.

The good thing is the devs will be incorporating this new OTA into their ROMs shortly, so waiitng for an updated ROM shouldnt be too long.

Redemption ROM is based off of the AOSP version (build IMM76D). Lou builds Redemption ROM from AOSP, then adds the pieces to make the CDMA/LTE Galaxy Nexus work.