Gmail Preferences

D1andOnlyOmen

May 20, 2011
Visit site
Hey guys. So this isn't necessarily a Gnex specific question really more of a general question, but since I tried a search in the overall forums and didn't really find anything to answer this, figured I'd toss it out here in the Gnex forums since I know there's some pretty savvy power users in here! :D

I've been using Gmail for close to 9 months now as my primary email after migrating to it from my hotmail account in preparation for getting my first Android phone back in September (Bionic) and now my 2nd Android phone, the Gnex. I feel like I've become fairly proficient in using Gmail and pretty familiar with all the various settings and label features and what have you.

I personally really like the conversation view of things in both the desktop/web view of my inbox as well as on my phone, but for whatever reason I can't convince my fiancee that this is the better way to view things. She seems to really be partial to the "traditional" style for viewing an email inbox where each email is shown as it's own entry, not all lumped together by conversation. I've been through all of the settings in the Gmail app on both my Gnex and her Dinc2 (I realize they're not the exact same version due to ICS on the Gnex), but I can't find any way to switch this view. I had an epiphany last night laying in bed that maybe it was controlled through the web settings. I found where you can turn off the "conversation" view in the web settings and just view each individual email on its own and thought since there didn't seem to be this same setting on the Gmail app for the phones, maybe this would do the trick. But on my own personal account and using the Gnex, this didn't seem to work as expected.....still seeing in conversation view on the phone.

Does ANYONE know if there's a way to get the Gmail phone app to turn off the conversation view for emails?!?!?

Thanks in advance for any responses!!! :)

anon(596177)

Dec 14, 2011