Living the Nexus Life

zkSharks

Retired Moderator
Mar 15, 2011
Visit site

Hi. :)

Some of you know me, some of you don't. I'll start with a little backstory for everyone:

I'm a designer and developer living in Seattle, WA. I do mobile development, web development, and general UI/UX design by trade, and timelapse photography by hobby. I also love screwing around with all things technology. :) I picked up a Thunderbolt the day they became available, and have been running with Big Red's LTE ever since. I switched over to the Nexus when it became available, arriving in-store at Best Buy an hour before the UPS truck did. Between then and now, I've spent far too much time on AC, and the Gnex forum in particular.

I've long thought that the full potential of devices like the Galaxy Nexus is limited by politics, money, support, etc. Regarding politics, the example most commonly-known would be the Google Wallet vs. Isis battle. Verizon's stance on Google Wallet (rather, Verizon's backing of Isis) sometimes made it frustratingly hard to use Google Wallet on an LTE Gnex. In the case of support, Verizon's general low-priority regard of the Nexus means that it hasn't received such full support. This, coupled with Samsung's somewhat equal regard for the Nexus, result in situations such as a lack of available accessories. We all know those three little pogo pins on the side of our phone. It's great to be able to set it down in the desktop dock and charge through the pogo pins... oh, wait. :-\

Moving into my apartment, I thought I'd take the opportunity to "go all the way" with my Nexus, so to speak. I'm changing where I live and how I live, so I might as well bring the Nexus along for the ride. :D This post will chronicle my various experiments with the Nexus — what it does for me, and what I do with it.​

The Concept