Can someone tell me what the difference is between (or what does each do) the two location settings:

1) Under Maps-Location settings-"Report From This Device"

2)General Settings-Location Services-"Google's Location Service"

How are the two different and what does each do? Can you effectively have one checked and not the other? I currently disabled #1 due to it draining my battery like nobody's business. I do still have #2 checked though. Anyone have any ideas?