How to Get Better Battery Life

Channan

Keyboard Warrior
Mar 21, 2010
Visit site
I really can't take the battery life on my Nexus any more. I'm running a 4.1.1 ROM (flashed so long ago I don't remember which one) at the moment. Can anyone recommend the best ROM/kernel/radio combo to flash to get the best battery life? At this point I don't care about speed, features, or even what version of Android it is as long as it isn't extremely buggy. I just want my phone to last as long as possible. Thanks.

zkSharks

Retired Moderator
Mar 15, 2011
Visit site
I've had good results on Leankernel for a while, but that's just me. I've been running AOKP for many months, with LTE on, brightness on full, and I routinely get a full day's use without problem. Battery life is usually more heavily impacted by your usage habits than it is by the ROM/kernel you're running. Do you leave Bluetooth on a lot? Screen brightness/timeout? Things like that.

If you don't already have an extended battery, the Samsung extended battery will fit inside the stock battery cover, and provides 15% more power if I remember correctly.

davey11

Dec 17, 2010
Visit site
Here's my take on the gnex battery...it absolutely sux...HARD. I just put up with it because every other aspect of the phone is great. (well maybe not the camera). I have the 2100mah extended and when I first got it, it was noticeably better, nowdays not so much. It seems to have lost some juice. I can't tell it from the reg 1850 batt.
I been on many many roms and kernels and have adjusted governors, lowered clockspeed and just tried lots of things to try and get better life. Guess what....I find all the things I do, the difference is negligible. Like Lum said above, batt is determined mostly by your usage patterns. the problem lies is how do you compare different batt cycles to one another? It is impossible to use the battery the same for 2 cycles.