Apps Won't Update

mzdrati

Jan 12, 2011
Visit site
Hi- I'm new to Android, and was trying to determine why my notification tray shows 12 triangles with exclamation points (one for each app that cannot be updated). Looking on the forums, some have suggested deleting my google account, and adding it back in. Can someone please direct me (as detailed as possible) how to do that? My Verizon Galaxy Nexus is on 4.1.1, never rooted or unlocked.

Will deleting my account erase or change the data on my phone? If so- is there another way to get this phone to sync with Google Play again?

Thanks in advance for helping this noob.

mzdrati

Jan 12, 2011
Visit site
I understand that perhaps this question was exceedingly noob, which may be why there were no responses. I found a detailed YouTube video that referenced the error code I was receiving (RPC-S: AEC-0) which showed the solution to the repeated errors I have been receiving. In case this benefits anyone- the problem was rectified by going into settings, selecting the Google account used to sync the phone, click on the email address that is shown (and then click the menu and select Remove Account). After a few seconds, open the Play Store, and it will ask you to enter your Existing Account, or create a new one. Click Existing, and enter your Gmail address and password, and you will hopefully find that all of the updates will start downloading automatically (that was my experience, anyway). It should be noted that the account removal and re-adding have to done within a certain timeframe or the account may not be able to be re-added.

TabGuy

Jul 3, 2011
Visit site
mzdrati,

Don't take lack of responses as a noob issue. This forum is extremely helpful to noobs. Rather take it as a problem you found that many of us haven't seen before and couldn't offer a response.