Tracking app?

Darren Donovan

Jan 4, 2013
Visit site
A friend of mine and his kids all have iPhone, iPhone5 I think. He has an app installed whereby he can see where his kids are at all times. The kids' phones have to be on, of course. So on his phone, the kids' phones appear as dots on a map. That's real cool. Do we have any Android app that does something similar?
Thanks,

nlitenme

Jul 3, 2010
Visit site
Not thru the app itself, at least not that I'm aware of. I use Avast, so that's the only one I have experience with. They have a website that you can login to & track devices.

If you're looking to do it inside an app, a quick search brought up this one - https://forums.androidcentral.com/e...ndroid.c&feature=search_result&token=WICy-fCO

There are others & again, I have no experience with these so I don't know much about them. Just try out a free one & see if you like it. If not, you can always uninstall it & try another.

Let us know which ones you try & how you liked them.

roberte1342

Aug 14, 2010
Visit site
Latitude will give a basic whereabouts indicated by a blue circle. This is mostly coarse location data gathered from cellular towers and nearby wifi MAC table lookups with varying degree of accuracy. If there are enough familiar WiFi hotspots that were picked up earlier by the Google Street View cars and/or other Android devices with GPS active in that area recently the location can be narrowed down to 500-1500ft indicated by a small blue circle around the person you are tracking. In more rural areas cell tower location is used instead and the circle can cover several miles only indicating what area of a city they are presently.
Latitude will only provide a real location if there is another app using the GPS such as Google Maps. You can ping the user to 'Check In' prompting them to open their maps thus activating their GPS.