1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default DONE. Sucessfully unlocked and rooted! Advice?

So I am still relatively new to the whole rooting and custom ROM world. I've had my GS3 for about six months (SCH-i535) and I had an HTC Incredible 2 for a year and a half before that, though I didn't consider rooting that. Since I got the GS3 I have been reading up about rooting, custom ROMs and all the other amazing stuff you can do with your smartphone, and considering doing it. Well, I finally made the leap and attempted it tonight using this guide

Worked flawlessly, I can't believe how simple that was. I was always so scared to do it for fear of bricking my phone, but this went off without a hitch (well almost) I did have a little trouble getting into recovery mode but I got it eventually. Now I have unlocked the bootloader, installed custom recovery (clockwork recovery) and am fully rooted. I can't believe it. Now I am just awestricken at all the new possibilities before me. Hehe. So I guess I just wanted to tell someone, anyone, about my successful rooting, hehe. Not nearly as hard as I thought.
    Now a few questions.
    I'm not going to flash any custom ROMs right away. I will spend some time getting acquainted with my newfound superuser access. Though, I was wondering if you guys could recommend some good ROMs to try here in the future..? And also, Does anyone have any general tips regarding root?
    Also, I did not factory reset my phone before rooting it. I've heard some people say you should, then other people say that it doesn't matter. This phone is only a few days old. I just got it from Assurion as a replacement and besides installing all my favorite apps and launcher its stock.
    Is this going to adversely affect my phone? Or should I even worry about it?
    I know some of you guys are gonna be like "ahhh great. Another friggen noob, joy" but have some patience with me.
    Any advice and tips would be very much appreciated!!!