4.3 ota update

Airlid

Aug 17, 2012
Visit site
I would like to take the update but I have rooted and unlocked the boot loader. What steps do I need to take.
I'm ok with it if I lose root, I'm sure I can get that back at some later date. I am new to this and not real smart so thank you for your patience and help.

Sent from my rooted, debloated Samsung Galaxy III

carycooke

Sep 21, 2011
Visit site
I would say relock phone and odin back to the previous stock tar then take the update through phone

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

Airlid

Aug 17, 2012
Visit site
So you took the plunge ?

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

I ment that I used casual to root, I have not figured out how to unroot. I tried to install the update and the phone goes into clockwork recovery.

Sent from my rooted, debloated Samsung Galaxy III

curley

Aug 31, 2010
Visit site
Right now, there is no way back. Every attempt has lead to a hard brick.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using AC Forums mobile app

Dan Thomas1

Jun 30, 2013
Visit site
Ug! I just did the OTA update and I had Root Keeper installed. I didn't find out till afterward that root keeper doesn't work with 4.3.
Is this the forum to watch if someone finds a way to re-root a 4.3 i535?

GSDer

Jan 30, 2011
Visit site
Right now, there is no way back. Every attempt has lead to a hard brick.
Are you saying this because someone has tried this on the Verizon build, or because people that tried it with the other carriers OTAs were unsuccessful?

Has it been confirmed that Verizon included the Knox bootloader (which is the reason for all of the trouble)? Should be simple enough to verify if we can get someone that has updated to boot into Download mode and see if the 'warranty' counter is shown.

Sent from my rooted, debloated, deodexed Sinclair ZX-80 running CM 10.2 using Tapatalk 4

Airlid

Aug 17, 2012
Visit site