Who's Old Enough to Remember ?

imhipper

Jul 24, 2012
Visit site
Another fun thread to go along with the average age of posters on this forum.

I can remember bag phones.

Waiting till after 9 PM for off peak rates.

Pulling up the antenna on your phone so you looked cool.

Technology has come so far its amazing. I get my SG3 on Monday and just killing time till then.

wythme2

Dec 16, 2011
Visit site
I had one of the first bag phones. What about the Motorola star tac. I loved it. And who can forget the old brick phones that Nextel had? I still have a purple of Nextel phones. Lol

imhipper

Jul 24, 2012
Visit site
I forgot about the Star Tac. Possibly the first true flip phone ? I remember leaving mine on the deck during a rain storm and every copper contact starting to corrode and the darn thing still kept on working,

ansextra

Apr 16, 2011
Visit site
I used to be a field tech and the company gave us those "brick" Nextel phones. After a while they switched us to something else because techs were losing them. Sounds strange but those phones were so big we had to put them somewhere while we worked. When we left the customer site we kept forgetting them. Never happened to me but it happened to lots of other guys.

didiwags

Jun 28, 2010
Visit site
My mom had a Startac! Even though I was a teenager, my mom wouldn't let me have a cell phone. Instead I had a pager! Lol

My mom also had those big bricks!

sfobrien

Dec 10, 2010
Visit site
Our first cell was the monster white phone with extended battery and extra long antenna that came to a point, weighed about two pounds and always jammed the antenna into the roof of the car ! Never had a bag phone but did have the Star-tac. It was pretty decent device.

God I love my S3 ! :D

P.S. First service was Celluar One which later melted into Verzon I think.

mikesmith

Jul 15, 2010
Visit site
??? Don Prudhomme ???

lol What?

No, this snake.
cell-phone-snake-game.jpg

dubge

Dec 21, 2009
Visit site