I535VRLG7 Issues

landshark32

Feb 21, 2011
Visit site
Hey all, long time listener......

Just upgraded myself and my wife to the S3... They were awesome until they updated. Now they're constantly scanning on wifi and reconnecting. In addition we frequently need to reboot to get data once we leave home.

We have to be on wifi at home. The last two phones - DX and D2G didn't get data at home either.

We're stock at the moment. I was going to wait a bit before I rooted since I'm actually enjoying the stock setup.

I've run out of tricks. Tried forgetting wifi etc. Any thoughts? I don't think it's hardware related since both are doing it

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Android Central Forums

jneusch

May 18, 2011
Visit site
I am no expert when it comes to radios so I hope someone else will chime in as well.

Obviously, it sounds like you have issues with getting good service at your home since the problem with no data was happening to your old devices too. I'm not sure why you would have to reboot to get data to connect though. Have you tried to put the phones into airplane mode for a few seconds? I would try that before rebooting. Even if that works it still doesn't make a lot of sense.

The only thing I can think of is that your phone is picking up a data roaming signal when you leave the house and you have the phone set up to deny data roaming. You can find this in settings -> more settings -> mobile networks -> global data roaming access. Maybe try selecting "allow access for all trip" just to see if that works. If the VZ data signal is very weak or nonexistent and there is another provider's CDMA/LTE signal that could be the reason.

My other thought would be to have VZ change out your SIM cards. Please report back what you find out so that others can help and we can all learn.

PsYcHoNeWb

Feb 17, 2011
Visit site
Hey all, long time listener......