Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default To root or not

I'm about at that point with my S3. I've always had HTC devices up until this one. I've always rooted and messed around with different roms. I pulled up the rooting forum and there's a couple of different ways of rooting. I am feeling the itch for CM10 or just something new. But I assume Verizon will push out the JB update within a month or two. Should I wait and root from there? Or just do it now. I don't actually mind my S3 stock which is suprising. And what way is the preferred way to root? Thanks, I'm a Samsung noob.

Global Posts
    74 Global Posts
    ROM
    CleanRom 2.5

Default Re: To root or not

If you really want to root just to help the itch go for it its super easy and also easy to get back to stock. And if jelly bean is your main thing on waiting there some nice jb Roms that work awesome. As always with rooting and roming read read read lol and as always have fun.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Android Central Forums
    Racer of Elevators

Global Posts
    1,139 Global Posts
    ROM
    Paranoid Android / CM7

Unlock the bootloader, root it, put CWM on it and make a nandroid backup of your current stock ROM. Then you can flash whatever you want when you want. If you want to stick to the forthcoming stock JB release, just flash the rooted package that someone will inevitably assemble. You can try out any of the CM10 flavors or other stock-based ROMs in the meantime, too.