Finally going to update!

SweetSaudade

Apr 5, 2011
Visit site
I'm scared and excited..lol

I'm also new to this.. I spent a lot of time with Helium and SMS backup/restore and Kies backing everything up (or so it seems anyway - god I hope these backups work..), so NOW what do I do? lol..

Do I
1) clear cache partition
2) factory reset
3) update OS

OR
1) factory reset
2) update OS
3) clear cache partition?

Also, before doing all this do I need to take my external SD card out of my phone?

Thanks!

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
I'm scared and excited..lol

I'm also new to this.. I spent a lot of time with Helium and SMS backup/restore and Kies backing everything up (or so it seems anyway - god I hope these backups work..), so NOW what do I do? lol..

Do I
1) clear cache partition
2) factory reset
3) update OS

OR
1) factory reset
2) update OS
3) clear cache partition?

Also, before doing all this do I need to take my external SD card out of my phone?

Thanks!

I would actually go in this order:
1. Remove the SD card safely.
2. Accept the OTA
3. Clear the Cache partition in recovery
4. Reset the device.

Ed Briggs

May 14, 2013
Visit site
I would take the sd card out. But I find backup apps useless, as logging back in with your google account will bring back your contacts and apps. I've done it this way many times and never lost anything.

SweetSaudade

Apr 5, 2011
Visit site
When you did that did you lose game progress? I'm most nervous about that.. I've lost too much of my life to some of these silly games to have to start all the way over..lol Which leads me to another question.. In the case of games that are also linked through your computer via Facebook - do you HAVE to back those up, or will your progress always be there because of the link to Facebook?

Thanks!

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site