Backing up Phone Contacts?

krazibones

Mar 23, 2011
Visit site
I'm still new to this Android thing and wanted to know how to backup phone contacts. I rooted my phone and used to use Verizon Backup Assistant, but not sure if that still works.

I don't want ALL of my Gmail contacts to show up under "people" on my phone, but just the contacts I have now and future ones that I might add. Is there there is an easy way to backup the contacts on my phone to gmail and then sync the two each time there is an update or change.

FrankXS

Feb 27, 2011
Visit site
I'm still new to this Android thing and wanted to know how to backup phone contacts. I rooted my phone and used to use Verizon Backup Assistant, but not sure if that still works.

I don't want ALL of my Gmail contacts to show up under "people" on my phone, but just the contacts I have now and future ones that I might add. Is there there is an easy way to backup the contacts on my phone to gmail and then sync the two each time there is an update or change.
You can choose which contacts show up on your list by using the People app... Menu | View, select the ones you want to appear in the list. Also, when adding contacts, be sure you are adding them to the desired category by using the drop down arrow at the very top (you might have to scroll up while adding a contact to see it).

Most folks think it is best to sync with Google (gmail) automatically. But some prefer the manual method (i.e. People | Menu | Export). You can also play games using import/export within your gmail account itself while logged onto your PC. Works well.

Backup Assistant "works", but is not advised by most (including me). It just isn't up to the task of syncing a Smartphone, IMHO.

-Frank

defcon999

Aug 30, 2011
Visit site