Thunderbolt First Impressions/Reviews

beveritt

Sep 9, 2010
Visit site
Aesthetics: very pleasing, feels like a solid block of metal with a soft touch plastic wrapper. The weight is just right, not like my Fascinate which was so light it felt like a toy.

Screen: Screen quality is quite good, seems a bit better than Evos I've demo'd. Colors are bright, not Super AMOLED bright, but text is much sharper.

Hardware: Overall seems very nice, well constructed, no build quality issues. Volume buttons seem almost too easy to press, and not a big fan of the micro-USB on the side.

Phone - including bluetooth & speakerphone usage: Voice quality is good, volume is plenty loud, haven't tried BT, I hardly use it.

Overall User Interface (including HTC Sense): Sense is very friendly, I'm a Launcher Pro advocate, but I may stick it out with Sense for a while.

Widgets: Sense widgets are useful for many people, not my cup of tea.

Signal quality (Compared to other devices): Seems to pull a much better signal than the Fascinate in all areas, 3G, 4G and wifi

GPS: it works, and that's a good thing!

Social Networking: I don't use the stock apps, I'm hooked on Tweetdeck to unify my Facebook and Twitter feeds in one place.

Email/Calendar: Sense versions of these apps are the best around, period. All the features you need are there.

Battery Life: unknown

Performance: very speedy so far, lag free. 4G speeds are awesome.

Media (music, movies, DLNA): Music player works well, streamed shoutcast with Winamp for 45 minutes without a hiccup

Keyboard's: Sense keyboard is decent, downloaded Swype beta and it works great

Camera (both still & video): took a few sample photos, no complaints at all. Camera app has more features than the Fascinate, focuses fast and takes the picture instantly