Bluetooth In Call Volume Setting

wgragg

Mar 31, 2011
Visit site
When using my bluetooth speaker to make a call, the voice prompt volume is very low. I can adjust it with the rocker switch, but it only lasts for that call and that kind of defeats the purpose of hands free dialing. Does anyone know if there is a way to set the volume and have it stay set, preferably without rooting the phone? The prompt I believe is Bluetooth In Call Volume.

Sorry, but I am new to Android (from Iphone 3GS) and don't want to mess up my warranty by screwing up a phone root...at least until I am more familiar with it.

Thanks,

WG

TreyDaPrince

Oct 28, 2009
Visit site
I don't have a bluetooth speaker but when I raise or lower the volume whether using the headset, speakerphone, or regular bluetooth the volume stays where I last set it. Have you noticed this trend when talking through the headset?

phantomog

Feb 13, 2011
Visit site
Mine stays, but be aware of the fact that even if your phone is locked and the screen is off, the volume rocker is still active and if you hit the volume down key the volume will go down.

I see this as good and bad. Good that you don't have to unlock the phone to adjust volume, but bad because it seems like the volume key is always getting hit in my pocket.

wgragg

Mar 31, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for the responses.

Ok, my problem is only on the voice prompt volume. Once the other person answers or I answer, the volume is fine. Also, I have tried this on numerous occasions by starting the voice prompt, checking the bluetooth in call volume, adjusting it all the way up, completing the call and then hanging up. I will then hit the power button to lock the phone and I then try to initiate another call via voice dialing and the volume is back down to the halfway point where it was on the first call.

I went over to the local Verizon store and talked with the manager and he has noticed the same thing when he tries to play music over his BT speaker.