Testing the old saying, "If it sounds too good to be true..."

Is mikestorm getting ripped off?

• Total voters

mikestorm

Nov 5, 2009
Visit site
So I just fulfilled a 'Buy it Now' transaction on eBay for a brand new Thunderbolt...for AU 200.00. With shipping it converted to $230 USD.

Seller created his account yesterday
Seller had 0 feedback
Seller is (obviously) from Australia.

I have a 40% to 50% degree of confidence this will pan out.

Auction made no mention of 'contract required' and the title specifically had the word 'unlocked' and the phrase 'operates on Verizon's network' in the description which to me is an assertion that the ESN is good.

Seller also has a 14 day return policy. I pulled the trigger because the price was too good to pass up and worth the hassle of submitting a claim in case I get boned on the deal.

So what do you all think?

Eclipse2K

Mar 22, 2011
Visit site
It sounds too good to be true. I generally avoid eBay because of all the dishonest sellers and buyers. I wish you the best of luck but I'd be afraid it's either a counterfeit device or something is terribly wrong. It's not uncommon for a seller to say it was "damaged in shipping" and "it's not my fault, take it up with the shipping carrier".

Good luck.

By the way, do you have a link to this auction so we can see it?

potatolover1102

Jan 16, 2011
Visit site
I would never buy a phone from someone in a country where they have no way of buying the phone themselves?? How did someone in Australia get a USA exclusive device and on a carrier that does not use a sim card as fully as gsm so there is no "unlocked" Verizon phone, all cdma is already "unlocked" its just up to the carrier to support it.

mikestorm

Nov 5, 2009
Visit site

streetstrip01

Legalized Drug Dealer
Mar 20, 2011
Visit site
So I just fulfilled a 'Buy it Now' transaction on eBay for a brand new Thunderbolt...for AU 200.00. With shipping it converted to $230 USD.

Seller created his account yesterday