1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Global Posts
    18 Global Posts

Default How does newbie to Verizon get a better retail deal on TB?

I have never had cell phones with Verizon and am looking to jump on the band wagon for 2 TB and the 1400 Minute Family Plan along w/ unlimited Data. Since I want to make sure that I like the phone I want to buy it in-store since I have 10 days to try it out and make sure that I like it (currently have Tmobile w/ BB 8900).

I have seen some great deals posted for $125 on Wirefly and $149 on Amazon but am going to buy it from Verizon store.

Is there anyway that I can get them to lower the price or price match a competitor's website? I am new to Verizon so need ammunition if it exists.

My understanding is that I would be paying $249 + tax for each phone at Verizon vs no tax at a Wirefly/Amazon....

Any input/ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks

Anthony

The only real way to get a better price at a verizon store is if you work for a company that gives you an employee discount with verizon. I got my Thunderbolt for $229 on a 1 year contract form verizon because of my employer. 2 year contract price would have ben $200.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Global Posts
    18 Global Posts

Unfortunately neither myself nor my spouse don't have access to a corporate discount.

Any other ideas?

Global Posts
    378 Global Posts

If you're in no rush to get the TB, wait a few weeks and see if Costco gets it, assuming you're a Costco member. I was told they(Costco) have to wait at least 40 days from release for the Best Buy exclusivity to expire.

They give you a 90-day policy if the phone has issues. I think you might still be stuck with Verizon after the 14 days but you have a longer period to make sure you like that specific phone.