Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Virus?

So I was on Chrome and I had a message saying I have a virus. It says hornworm.apk

What can I do if anything. Is it a virus?

Virus?-image.jpg

Default Re: Virus?

I would probably not hit anything on the screen and reboot the phone. It seems like a trap to get you to download a virus or malware. Very possibly nothing wrong with your phone.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Thanks! If I did hit the remove and recover now but didn't download the virus program/app that followed, am I ok? I'm new to android world. Just close the tab and see if it pops up again?
    Retired Ambassador

Global Posts
    10,442 Global Posts
    Carrier
    Stock 6.0.1

Quote Originally Posted by onnad View Post
    Thanks! If I did hit the remove and recover now but didn't download the virus program/app that followed, am I ok? I'm new to android world. Just close the tab and see if it pops up again?
    You should be fine. Some sites/pages tell you that your phone is infected to get you to download their "antivirus" apps like mentioned above. Do you use any of those at the moment?

Sent from my Galaxy S4 running SlimKat 4.4.2
  5. Thread Author  Thread Author    #5  

Not that I'm aware of. I just did (Sunday) the kitkat update. Was there any new apps with that? I put 1 letter in differently (say an s instead of an a) when going to a website that's when that popped up.

I can't find much about it when searched, so hopefully it was just an ad. Just watch your phone for strange behavior. You can use one of the common anti-virus apps on the play store if it would make you feel better about it.
    Retired Ambassador

Global Posts
    10,442 Global Posts
    Carrier
    Stock 6.0.1