Touchwiz Discussion. (Software design basis)

Audacious7

Aug 8, 2013
Visit site
Hello all,
I've been looking into getting the galaxy s4, however I have a friend who says touchwiz is very bloaty compared to what we own now (Droid Razr Maxx HD). He said stock Android is better and being a programmer I can see that. However I can't see touchwiz being too much slower considering it is essentially just a skin over stock android with a few more features added. I've read article after article about how touchwiz is slow or gets slower over time. However from a programming standpoint they never discussed reasons why this was happening. Forget about whether you think touchwiz looks pretty or not I wanted to have a software discussion about why it is better/worse or no different from stock android.

Most bloatware apps can be disabled and Android manages memory pretty well by killing old processes when needed, so I can't see how touchwiz is slower... if anyone could enlighten me that would be great.

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
Having done some theme work in the past on TW based custom ROMs in the past my experience is TW uses more images rather than vanilla Android's use of code to create colors and backgrounds. That alone creates more load time and resource usage to load up images to create the end product.

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
The fact that the extra features like Smart stay etc, are all taxing the system. RAM suffers, and creates a cascading effect. I agree with the assessment that TW is overloaded, and slows the system down.

Audacious7

Aug 8, 2013
Visit site
But you can turn down a lot of the graphics rendering to help with that. Also the s4 has damn good specs that I feel can handle a lot.

Also there is no way to turn off some of the smart features at all? Without rooting of course.

Last edited:

Golfdriver97

Dec 4, 2012
Visit site