Scammers use customers identities to order phones

SmithlandCart

Banned
Feb 27, 2014
Visit site
Pay a close eye on your bill, scammers are using Verizon accounts to illegally get phones.
That sounds like an inside job by someone in the apt. leasing office. You have to give your SSN for them to do a credit check for a lease so I am sure that is where the crooks got the info from. Once you know someone's name, SSN and address, the cell carriers will treat you like you are the account owner.

I always hate having to give out my SSN for doctor/dentists and refuse. They only want it so they can turn you over to collections if you don't pay. They don't need it to file an insurance claim. I pay my bills so I am not worried about collections, but what I do worry about are the people who work in the doctor/dentist office and have access to it. Many are low paid workers and I have no idea if criminal background checks are done on them. And even if they are, many are women who could be in relationships with thugs who abuse them and they could be intimidated/beaten into stealing the info to give to their criminal boyfriends.

The doctors/dentist do not need your SSN for any purpose relating to medical care. It is useful to them only if they need to send collection agency after you or to ding your credit report if you don't pay the bill. While I can understand why they want it, I refuse to give it to them.

pch1000

Feb 10, 2014
Visit site