Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default VZW - Do I purchase a smartphone now, or wait to see tiered options??

I posted this elsewhere, but kind of feel like it may deserve its own thread....so here goes:

I have an honest question to this thread. I am a newbie to Android Central. So new, in fact, that I don't even own an Android device at this point. My problem is in deciding what would be the most cost effective. I am currently on a family plan with three phones, none of which are smart phones. If I switched it would cost me another $30 a month which equates to a total of an additional $360 a year. This would be a total of about $780 a year for me alone on this contract. Now, granted, this is unlimited data- or at least up to 5GB, which is probably no-where near where what I would use. I plan to use my phone for talking, texting, streaming music like an ipod type device, and playing around with an app or two daily- maybe checking facebook or whatever. I can honestly say I have no idea how much data usage that would even be. Is it worth it to buy a phone now just to lock in the unlimited data? Or as I'm already on a family plan and they may work out some sort of family data plan wait for that since at that point my boyfriend would probably upgrade also. Please help with any comments you may have, or feel free to move this elsewhere if this thread deserves to be someplace else. I appreciate everyone's help.
    Banned

Global Posts
    5,774 Global Posts
    ROM
    Something JB