Need help setting up work e-mail

aaron5775

Jul 6, 2011
Visit site
I've been trying this past week to get my work e-mail setup on my new LG Optimus V phone but so far I just keep getting various error messages. I had my e-mail working on my previous Blackberry, although I don't remember exactly how I got it setup. The Blackberry would sync with my calendar in addition to receiving all of my work e-mail, and I'd like to have my LG Optimus do the same so forwarding to a Gmail account isn't really what I want to do. The problem is I work in IT so it's a little embarrassing to be call up our helpdesk on how to set up e-mail on my phone, so I'd rather not call them :)

If I don't choose manual setup I get an error saying: "Username or password incorrect"
If I go into manual setup it defaults my Domain as: \firstname.lastname
with server: companyname.com

I have tried copying information from my account settings in Microsoft Outlook but that doesn't seem to work either.
In Outlook the server name is something like: exch02.companyname.com
So what I believe I should be entering is:
Domain: companyname\username (I'm using the username I use to log in from Microsoft Web Access)
Password: mypassword
Server: exch02.companyname.com

Use secure connection (SSL) checked
Accept all SSL certificates not checked

Using this information it hangs a bit on the screen that says "Checking incoming server settings..." and then after about a minute or so gives me an error message "Unable to open connection to server."

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, can anybody help?

johnp012001

Feb 22, 2011
Visit site