Really confused. Please Help

9191-H

Jan 5, 2012
Visit site
So I'm a complete noob to this thing. As a matter of fact, my friend mentioned rooting my phone and explained that its similar to jailbreaking an ipod, which I have done successfully. (I'm not sure about my privileges as a new member so I won't link) I'm right now following the xda developers forum following the steps, and currently on step 6. It says to choose your desired ROM with a gapps (both .zip), put those on the sd card to flash. So what I'm currently looking for in assistance is which ROM would you recommend for LG optimus V (virgin mobile) 2.2.2? More specifically, which ROMs work for my 2.2.2 (would you recommend). Thanks for the help!

9191-H

Jan 5, 2012
Visit site
Thanks for the response. Okay so I just picked two random ones (BACKside-IHO-VM670, and CM7.2.0 RC0-BobZ) for my specific phone. When I try to flash one of them with the flash image gui app with kernel image selected, it says the file is too big. Am I downloading the right thing or have something not checked or selected?

notown

SAMLOKA
Jun 2, 2011
Visit site
Yeah, im not sure what you're doing to flash the rom. After you install your custom recovery you can boot into the the recovery and flash it there.

9191-H

Jan 5, 2012
Visit site
Alright this is a text copy of the steps I am currently on.

Flash Custom ROM

I.H.O CyanogenMod 7 ROM (Gingerbread)

6. Copy the unextracted ROM .zip that you wish to install to the /sdcard dir. Also if installing a CyanogenMod Gingerbread ROM, the unextracted gapps.zip also needs to be placed in the same dir to flash right after the ROM .zip.
7. Boot into Clockworkmod recovery mode (From powered off state, hold vol-down, home, and power button until the LG logo appears).
8. FIRST, BACKUP ORIGINAL ROM! Don't continue until this is successful. Use vol-up/down, camera, & back keys to navigate in recovery.