Cursor control on Acer Tab vs other Android devices?

buttonstc

Dec 31, 2011
Visit site
Since I've never used any Android phone I'm trying to figure out if this is an Android OS problem or the peculiar over sensitivity of the Iconia A100 screen.

I'm having an extremely difficult time trying to edit my typos due to the cursor's extreme reluctance to go where I'm trying to put it. Its not that I'm new to on screen touch keyboards since I've been using an iPhone for years.

But I was getting tired of the walled garden and lack of Flash. So I decided on an Android tablet. But along with learning a whole new interface with no reference books or online tutorials, I'm finding the jumpiness of this cursor is driving me crazy.

Someone linked to a vid on YT demonstrating the cursor and copy/paste. It looked a WHOLE LOT different and far more controllable than mine.

I'm hoping there are fellow Acer owners who also use Android phones can give me some comparisond between our tab and other Android devices specifically on this issue.

Is the Acer tab just more over sensitive or is this more of an Android keyboard issue? Please tell me what your Acer tablet experience has been like. Thanks.

mightyfacundo

Feb 6, 2011
Visit site
I know what you're talking about. Sometimes I tap the screen to move the cursor and it bounces to a spot I didn't choose. I've tried quite a few keyboards on my Thunderbolt and Acer and I really think it depends on the keyboard. For me, the stock keyboard on the Acer is pretty bad at placing the cursor where you tap, whereas the stock HTC keyboard is extremely accurate. Thumb Keyboard is a little better on the tablet, but the cursor still jumps back to the beginning from time to time. My recommendation? Try out different keyboards, and go with the one you like best. Then, get used to using the arrow keys to move your cursor around if the keyboard you like isn't as accurate as you want.