Fire HD 7th Generation 2017 Version

enthuz

Jun 9, 2011
Visit site
With Amazon releasing the 7th Gen Fire HD's 7", 8" and 10" variants, who is looking to pick one up? This one is supposed to be better and faster, so it's much better than the TF201 I'm replacing.

I'm new to this family of tablets. I wanted one as a kitchen tablet for my smart appliances and cooking mostly. The wife and I will have separate accounts on it for our Kindle library of cookbooks...she has her Surface for other needs. I've read that you can load Play Store on the Fire HD easily, so I was sold. I placed my preorder for the 10" 64 GB model.

Please share your thoughts on the new models. I should have mine in hand on 10/11.

anon(238680)

Mar 22, 2011
Visit site
Although I do lots of business with Amazon, have a Fire TV and Fire Stick, I see no reason to be locked into them for a tablet. I get more than enough "help" from them just having their app on my phone :(

blak8830

Sep 18, 2012
Visit site
Bought my wife a 7th gen HD 8 so she could use it to watch downloaded videos where we have no Internet, then picked one up for myself so I could answer her questions more easily. She's also using it to listen to audiobooks, and seems quite pleased. The sound quality is really good, and it's (moslly) taken the place of my 2012 Nexus 7 for reading kindle books, just because of the slightly larger screen. Was very easy to load the play store, following instructions found by searching with Google.

natehoy

Sep 2, 2011
Visit site
I currently have a Nexus 10 that I use as my tablet daily driver, but the battery dies off at 80% and a new battery is about $50. I'm waiting to see if the new 10" Fire tablet at $150 is as hackable as the 7" Fire Tablets I bought some friends as Christmas presents and was able to put the Play Store on with a simple script. If it is, I will be sorely tempted.