View Poll Results: How long until we see a custom Rom on the Kindle Fire?

Voters
94. You may not vote on this poll
  • Just a few days and we'll have true android.

32 34.04%
  • It'll take a few weeks to break through Amazon locks.

49 52.13%
  • Interest won't be strong and it will take a month or 2 to see any real progress.

9 9.57%
  • Who cares? I like being locked down by the man.

4 4.26%
    You know it's gonna happen, but when? I think we should take bets on how many days, weeks or months it will take to crack this baby and unlock whatever extra potential there is waiting inside.
    09-28-2011 12:36 PM
    depends on how fast the cm7 devs get their hands on it. i will bet it will be record speed as i anticipate this thing to FLY off the shelves.
    09-28-2011 12:46 PM
    If Honeycomb is able to be on the Fire, what exactly will this mean and why would you do it? Sorry I am a noob when it comes to this stuff. Any chance ICS will be on it when it comes out? Thanks
    09-28-2011 02:01 PM
    probably a better chance of seeing ICS than Honeycomb since Google never released the Honeycomb source.
    09-28-2011 02:59 PM
    it's hard to say especially since its been said that the fire won't have a microsd card slot or usb mass storage mode
    09-28-2011 03:02 PM
    It's a cheap device, so hopefully not too long. CM7 seems doable as Amazon's Android spinoff is supposed to be Gingerbread-based. But then I'm no dev, so what do I know. Give it a few weeks for something stable.

Honeycomb, not so likely. Closed-source and all that. Maybe Ice Cream in a couple of months.
    09-28-2011 03:03 PM