So, I was looking around on the internet, and remember someone telling me I could test developed apps on my kindle fire. I am very new to both the kindle fire and android app development, but am aware that the kindle fire's OS is a modified version of android (or something like that). I tried plugging in my kindle fire after enabling installation of apps somewhere in the settings and ran my program in eclipse, but nothing happened, and my kindle fire remained on the "You can now transfer files..." screen. Also, when I plug in my kindle it says there is no driver found. I hear this is normal though. If anyone could help me I would appreciate it, thanks in advance.
    12-26-2011 12:13 PM
    When you plug the fire into the computer it automatically mounts as storage. Just drag the apk you created into a folder or just on the root of the fires storage. After that, use a file explorer, I use es file explorer, and install the ank like any other. Hope that helps.
    EDIT: that's really the only way you can test it. If you want to test it on an emulator download the android SDK and emulate your app like that
    12-26-2011 04:45 PM
    When you plug the fire into the computer it automatically mounts as storage. Just drag the apk you created into a folder or just on the root of the fires storage. After that, use a file explorer, I use es file explorer, and install the ank like any other. Hope that helps.
    EDIT: that's really the only way you can test it. If you want to test it on an emulator download the android SDK and emulate your app like that
    Hmm, thanks, but to be honest I have no idea what you just said XD. Apologies, im a complete android noob. Do you think you could explain to me what an apk is and where exactly on the kindle device I would put it? And also, what is ank and what do I do with it after installing it?
    12-26-2011 05:43 PM