03-09-2013 09:16 AM
31 12
tools
    So I will be switching from a iPhone 5 to a GS3 or a Nexus 4.
    I have some noob questions about both and the Android operating system as a whole. I've never used any Android phone before.
    Which one has more customization? That's pretty much the main reason I'm switching. Can you customize as extensively as a Jailbroken iPhone with themes? I know there's these launcher things, can you have multiple Launchers and switch between them? And where do you get the Icon skins for the Launchers from? The Google Play store? Also, what are the main differences between the S3 and the Nexus 4? Does one do things that the other can't? And does the S3 have Google Now?

Thanks.
    03-04-2013 08:15 PM
    Jailbroken iOS devices can't compare to how much you can customize Android devices (well they kinda can but Android has many more customization potential), that includes themes. In certain phone sections there are topics where people show off their homescreens.

S3 and N4 have similar specs, but the S3 has more features and the N4 is pure vanilla Android and will get updates first.

No idea about launchers, and I believe S3 does have Google Now.
    03-04-2013 09:15 PM
    As Demonic said, Nexus is just a working phone, however Samsung is a device more geared to the general market, a lot like the iPhone so it might be easier to use. However the Nexus gets updates faster. All up to you.
    03-04-2013 09:24 PM
    Be sure to check out AndroidCentral's own Apple User's Guide to Android for more information of your subject.
    To answer your questions:

Which one has more customization?
    - Android definitely.

Can you customize as extensively as a Jailbroken iPhone with themes?
    - More in depth, with custom animations and icons.

Can you have multiple Launchers and switch between them?
    - You can, but there is no reason to. Usually people stick with one main launcher.