Is there a way to keep my android 7.0/Nougat alive full time other than keeping plugged in? I have a long running app that has to be constantly restarted.
    08-03-2017 03:51 PM
    Do you mean the screen timeout? If so, you could set it to Never.
    08-03-2017 04:08 PM
    PMbelodion, sorry - I should have added that to my q. No The app mentioned and several background apps (3rd party) are shut down by DOSE where others are not. I have placed all theses app within "Do Not Manage" area for battery management but DOSE still kills almost all these apps.
    belodion likes this.
    08-03-2017 04:34 PM
    Okay. I'm not an expert on that feature, not having a 7.0 device myself, so I'll move the thread to the Nougat forum.
    08-03-2017 05:28 PM
    Aside from being plugged in, I don't think there is any way to stop Doze.
    belodion likes this.
    08-03-2017 07:21 PM
    Well, I can think of a few ways of doing this, but they all require root access. Android is not designed to be a real time, server like, always on operating system... And Google has been working hard to eliminate the chance that an app will do just what you ask. So you need to get up to your elbows in Androids guts and make it yeild to your will.
    J Dubbs and Golfdriver97 like this.
    08-03-2017 09:49 PM
    I like that...bend it to your will :-)
    If marshmallow were human I would have long ago pounded it to a pulp ;-) I'm hoping nougat is a little more likeable.
    08-04-2017 04:39 AM
    I have placed all theses app within "Do Not Manage" area for battery management but DOSE still kills almost all these apps.
    Do you mean you went into something like the battery optimization screen like is available on the V20?
    Attachment 265176
    Attachment 265177