Navigation Apps ?

AJFSTORM

Mar 18, 2010
Visit site
I just got an Incredible new to Android and I'm looking for a Nav app that gives you audio turn by turn directions like a TomTom . Is there a good free one or one that doesn't require a monthly/annual subscription fee?

Last edited:

Adrenaline#IM

Aug 4, 2009
Visit site
I'm new to Android and won't have my first Android phone until the Evo comes out, but doesn't Google Maps Navigation already do that?

Last edited:

darreno1

Nov 29, 2009
Visit site
Well technically they are two separate apps but before the last update, you had to launch Google Maps and choose navigate to launch it. With the last update, Google introduced a separate icon for just the navigation. You can find it in the app tray.

AJFSTORM

Mar 18, 2010
Visit site
Well technically they are two separate apps but before the last update, you had to launch Google Maps and choose navigate to launch it. With the last update, Google introduced a separate icon for just the navigation. You can find it in the app tray.

Got it, nice to have a separate icon, thanks guys!

Duvi

Oct 24, 2008
Visit site
+1 for Google Navigation... I've stopped using AT&T Navigator because of it and I didn't think I would ever be able to let it go.

Jeremy

Original Member
Oct 24, 2008
Visit site
It does not get better than Google Nav but it is kind of creepy they actually keep track of the amount of miles you drive while using the app...

darreno1

Nov 29, 2009
Visit site
BTW, someone was nice enough to mention on one of the other forums, 'avoid highways' and 'avoid tolls' are options. I found them by pressing 'route info' then ' route options' (represented by the icon with gears). I try to avoid the highways sometimes and this would certainly come in handy. I'm not sure when they were added though, but I know they are sought after features.

Cory Streater

Sep 21, 2009
Visit site