Question about Gtalk vs BBM

teknomedic

Nov 8, 2009
Visit site
OK I'm a smart phone newb. I've never had a Blackberry, but a large portion of my co-workers do so I've seen and played with their Blackberries (or is it Blackberrys) several times.

Anyway, I'm on the market for a new phone and I'm between getting a Blackberry Storm 2 or a Droid... in general I'm leaning towards the Droid due to the "open source" side of things and some recent news of them working on "fixing" the 256mb app limit. However, the Blackberry is getting nod due to the BBM that so many of my co-workers use... and love of course.

So here's my question (finally, lol). With BBM I know you can have several conversations open at the same time and each conversation will continue to grow (ie; be saved) until I delete it or I run out of the space.

Can this be done with Gtalk as well?... can I have several "IM conversations" running at the same time in their own "windows" and have the conversations save for as long as I want (like chat, close the window and a few days later chat with that person again and still have the previous conversation loaded)... or will all the conversations be merged into one complicated conversation window and the converstaions be lost when I close the window or shutdown the phone????

Also, how easy is it for Blackberry users to install/use Gtalk on their phones so that maybe I can use IM with them, but just not have the "BBM service"??

Thanks for any info,
TK.

phonejunky

Nov 8, 2009
Visit site
as far as gtalk you can carry on more then one conversation at a time, its just like a yahoo client on your phone if you have ever used yahoo messenger and yes you can also install the gtalk onto a blackberry device and chat with your co-workers it is very easy to install on a bb and free.

Nov 4, 2009
Visit site
I have used the Storm 2 and Droid since they came out... I would recommend watching this podcast first:

YouTube - Droid Vs Storm 2