What are must have apps for a noob to android?

AngrySK

Sep 12, 2014
Visit site
I am brand new to android(came from Apple) and would love to know the best apps and what they do for android. Thank you for all the help.

tsells

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site
It depends on what phone you got, but Nova Launcher changes the UI of the phone and is probably the best one of many launchers to do this. If you get Nova and like it, then upgrade to Nova Prime and then also get Tesla Unread Plug-in so that you can get notifications on certain icons.

SwiftKey is a fantastic replacement keyboard.

Aquamail is a great email app that integrates multiple accounts better than any other app.

And Calengoo is a better calendar with better widgets than the stock calendar.

Posted via Android Central App

Ki77erB

Jul 26, 2010
Visit site
QuickPic is an awesome photo gallery with regular updates.

ES File Explorer...there are others but this one works for me.

Light Flow...lets you customize the notification light colors and more

Pushbullet...its awesome...trust me.

cpaight

Dec 28, 2011
Visit site
Definitely a launcher like Apex or Nova and then some icon packs or themes to truly make your phone one of a kind. (check out mycolorscreen.com for some inspiration)

Try out some keyboards to find the one that works best for you....Swiftkey, swype and minuum offer three drastically different styles.

PushBullet is awesome for moving files and links between your devices and PocketCasts is my go-to for podcasts.

KyonCoraeL

Oct 10, 2012
Visit site
Swiftkey - Now free for all! Themes subject to in-app purchases
ES File Explorer - A great way to access files on your local area network and manage files on your device much like you would do on a PC
Teamviewer or Splashtop - An excellent app to control or access your computer from across the internet.
Pushbullet - Notifications on your desktop and clipboard!
MightyText - SMS from your PC or mac!