MMS/SMS Software

coachpelkey

Man of La Mancha
Dec 1, 2010
Visit site
I have been reading alot on here about the best mms/sms software for my android, but I am curious to get the best bang for the buck.

I do not mind paying for a good app, but at the same time, is it really worth it.

I have an optimus S through sprint, and currently use CHOMP SMS.

I tried handcent, and go SMS, but is there anything else?

MMS/PIC mail is rather slow through chomp....but maybe I am doing something wrong...

I would appreciate the feedback, yes just another another "...would you rather have this or that..." I know...

But, forgive me, I am a noob to android, coming from a htc touch pro 2.

Thanks

Coach

DenverRalphy

Retired Network Mod
May 11, 2010
Visit site
Those are the big 3 of text messaging apps for Android. If you're looking for the best, it'll be one of those three.

That being said... I prefer GO SMS. It's the most recent app thrown into the ring, and has recently pulled me away from Handcent. It takes up less app space on my device, has almost all the features that used to sway me towards Handcent, the ui and operation is more polished and crisp, and yet is still in its infant stage of development. The developers are actively working on it, and it's obvious there's some major talent behind the development.

Cory Streater

Sep 21, 2009
Visit site
Go SMS does look like a cool app. I'm a loyal Handcent fan, but maybe I'll try it out.

Coach - is there anything specifically you feel you are missing out on? I had a TP2 as well, and my experience is that these programs offer far more in the way of SMS/MMS than that phone did.

coachpelkey

Man of La Mancha
Dec 1, 2010
Visit site
I got rid of CHOMP and am trying go sms.
I am not sure what I am looking for, just something to waste my time looking and trying to make the best of my optimus.
I would love to get an evo but $$$$ and I am not well ....rich.
So, keep up the great work, I will let you know what I think of go SMS.