Example- I installed Modern Combat 5 (MC5) on my tablet. This is a big app so I immediately moved to my SD card. After the move, App manager said that MC5 only used 115mb of storage. Although when I checked the built in storage on my tablet the App actually took up almost a whole gig!

This was before I started playing the game so the cache memory was not built up yet. No matter what memory manager I used there was nothing that could tell me how much storage space MC5 actually took up. I could just see it in the App manager. Once I uninstalled the App I had a whole gig of internal storage freed up.

This is just an example as I've seen other Apps do this as well. What is the point of installing to SD card if it actually doesn't install to it? Why can't I see how much memory a program ACTUALLY takes up? since built in storage isn't expandable this poses a problem at times.
    11-05-2015 07:52 AM
    Welcome to Android Central! I agree, it can be confusing. The filesize that is shown in the Google Play Store is only the size of the installer file, and like Windows programs, the actual size of the final install is usually much bigger. It may be that the final size of the app might vary with the device, in which case it would be difficult for them to report it accurately.