So my best friend is in the middle of a litigation over a family case that can potentially send a wife and child abuser to jail. She is in need of SMS evidence to present to the judge inside her old phone she is not using. The phone is no longer charging (the charging port is damaged). It can only run on battery power; so connecting it to the wall or a computer is not possible. The problem is that there are over 3,500 SMS/MMS texts in the phone and recovering them all before the battery runs out is a task all on its own. I took the battery off a similar phone with 100% battery power and downloaded an app on her phone from the Play store to start recovering all of her messages. The process was taking forever, understandably—and the battery ran out. When I booted up the phone again, the application completely failed and did not save any of the progress after many hours. It was supposed to recover all messages to an IMAP gmail account. I've never done this before and wasn't sure if I should have seen some of the messages as they were being copied to the email account or the app had to complete the process 100% before anything was delivered. Whatever it was, it failed because of the amount of messages it had to copy before the power ran out, and the app provided no way of pausing or saving progress for a later time so that I could recharge the battery. Is anyone aware of a better app or a better process of recovering MMS/SMS texts considering the condition of the phone's power limitation? The next hearing is coming up soon and her lawyer is requesting she submit the evidence asap so that he can study it before submitting it to the judge. Her phone was a Samsung Galaxy S4 with Android 4.4
    08-07-2016 08:36 AM
    Welcome to the forums. Have you asked your carrier if they can send a transcript of the texts?
    Laura Knotek likes this.
    08-07-2016 08:56 AM