Problems with Stock Internet Browser

mwlevey

May 11, 2011
Visit site
Hey Guys:

I'm a newbie on this site running Android 2.2.2 on an HTC Aria (AT&T network)

Last week I started having problems loading some "mobile" sites using the stock browser. The two sites I'm having problems with account for about 1/2 my data use for work.

Instead of rendering the site, my phone renders text that looks like the html code for the site.

General Troubleshooting Facts
1) Occurs on multiple phones (my wifes phone too running 2.1)
2) Occurs over AT&T's 3g network AND home Wifi
3) Occurs in Skyfire 4.0, Dolphin HD, but NOT Opera Mobile 11.0
4) The 2 Websites seem to work normally on my laptop using Firefox (mobile.pgatour.com and m.golf.com)
5) AT&T had me do a hard reset and that did not help.

Anyone else have this problem? Any idea how to fix?

I only ask because the stock browser seems to be the best.

Thanks in advance for any help.

project.in.process

May 18, 2010
Visit site
if you visit the full version (desktop) of the site, from your phone, does it still display the content in html code?

i prefer Dolphin HD to stock, but to each his/her own.
in DolphinHD, (might be able to in Stock browser), you can change view from Mobile to Desktop view for pages. it might be something worth looking into.of course, you don't get the minimalist version of the website, stripped down for faster viewing, but at least you'll get something readable vs. html jargon

mwlevey

May 11, 2011
Visit site
The Full Version works ok. I do have the "mobile view" enabled for websites.

I'm just trying to figure out if the problem that just started last week is on my phone, network, or the sites individually.

Thanks for the response.

p.s. Opera Mobile seemed to work ok even on the mobile site, but its much slower. Dolphin seemed to have the same problem as the native browser.

project.in.process

May 18, 2010
Visit site
The Full Version works ok. I do have the "mobile view" enabled for websites.