Google Pay with Discover Card - Anyone?

N4Newbie

Trusted Member
Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
Wife and I have been using Google Pay with my Discover Card for a couple of years.

For the past 10 days, it refuses to work even at stores where I have used it every other day or so (Stop & Shop, for example). The terminal says "Card rejected" or some such.

Now, let me say for one thing that credit is absolutely not an issue. Also, if I switch Google Pay from my default Discover card to my Bank of America Visa, it works fine. My wife is having the same problem on her phone (also linked to my Discover card account). She has a Pixel 3 and mine is a Pixel 3XL.

Anyway, I asked first at the Stop & Shop service counter if they had changed anything and was told no, nothing.

Next, I called Discover and they said could not see any reason on their side for my card to be rejected, but we went ahead and deleted the card from Google Pay and re-added in order to generate a new token.

Guess what - it still doesn't work.

Any ideas? Anyone else having this issue specifically with a Discover card?

hallux

Q&A Team
Jul 7, 2013
Visit site
Mine has been working fine. Been working it overtime even, kind of, using it twice a week at the grocery store due to the 5% cashback bonus for use at those stores, been working flawlessly...

N4Newbie

Trusted Member
Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
Mine has been working fine. Been working it overtime even, kind of, using it twice a week at the grocery store due to the 5% cashback bonus for use at those stores, been working flawlessly...
Weird.

Fwiw, I know for sure the card works because I purchased something at Amazon and charged it to the card with no problem.

And Google Pay works because I was able to use it with my BofA Visa card.

N4Newbie

Trusted Member
Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
I've been busy, including 10 days outside the US, but wanted to come back to this with an update of sorts.

I've determined a couple of things for sure: