Recommendations and Rant (4100NEX worth it?)?

fljames989

Feb 8, 2016
Visit site
Recommendations and Rant (4100NEX worth it?)

My wife likes her small car (MAZDA2). We want to keep it many more years and it has just a stock radio with no Bluetooth or anything. I am a car stereo novice and trusted the store. They said the Pioneer AVH-X3700BHS would handle everything I wanted, which was navigation through google maps and seamless integration.

Well, jokes on me.. the unit is terrible.

Now that I have researched it more, it seems the best option for my wifes S6 Active is a headset with Android Auto.

Is the 4100NEX a good unit to use? All she wants is navigation and then easy way to listen to music and take calls while she can still see the map.

I am going to have to fight with the installer to change this for a 4100NEX (and I'm willing to pay the difference) but he only sells Pioneer products. I think that I can get a compromise from him to change the unit just for the difference cost, but if I should REALLY not be with Pioneer, I can figth with him tooth and nail to get my money back and go with another brand... that just seems like more trouble than its wroth if the 4100 is good enough.

Thanks!

daerik

Dec 7, 2015
Visit site
Re: Recommendations and Rant (4100NEX worth it?)

I am connecting a Galaxy S6 (SM-G920T1) on a T-Mobile Network to an AVH-4100NEX in a 2007 Mercury Grand Marquis. I simply love this unit. The only differences I saw between this model and the more expensive Pioneer models (AVIC-7100NEX / AVIC-8100NEX) is that this one does not have a navigation module (AVIC-U260 Required), but the maps work fine with Android Auto when the device is connected. I am able to listen to music/podcasts/audio books/phone calls while navigating on the maps (I strongly suggest she turns off the audio on the maps during a phone call or in local traffic else it will be quite annoying). If you have any specific questions, I'll be more than happy to answer them.

Dr Claw