Why are you staying on Android (vs iOS 8)?

KarlDag

Feb 6, 2013
Visit site
I've been using Android for about 18 months, came from an iPhone 4S (and 3GS). Started with a Nexus 4, and I now own a G2. I'm thinking about going back to the iPhone 6 and iOS 8, but I'm undecided.

I love android because:
- Vendor and shape choices. I love choices, although most of them have issues (Touchwiz for Samsung, LG UI for LG, bad cameras and poor availability in Canada for motorola for example).
- Better UI on select devices. By that I mean that I actually prefer the stock android look to iOS', but that's only available on the Moto X and Nexus 5. I've tried stock roms, they still don't have the same performance as real stock android, and not super stable).
- Battery Life - yup. Says it all.
- Upcoming AndroidTV and Cast protocol - My AppleTV is getting stale compared to AndroidTV's upcoming platform, and really needs an app store.
- Set default apps - Google Maps!!
- Better notifications system
- Google now integration

On the other hand, especially considering that most people I know have iPhones, I miss
- Smooth and consistent performance
- Timely updates
- More accessories (arm bands, cases, airplay enabled devices, etc)
- Better app stability
- IMessage being a standard on the platform, everyone uses it. I'll admit Hangouts is almost as good, but very few people use it, and those that do it's because I fought hard.
- Facetime
- Airplay availability - It really just works, it's embedded in various TV receivers and such products
- Broken devices support instore. Honestly that is a big one for me. My G2's screen is messed up right now, and if I want it fixed under warranty I have to send it in through my carrier, who says it's a 4-6 weeks wait time. They'll lend me a flipphone while I wait.. Seriously? They lend iphones to iphone owners!