What's a good watch company for fitness & smartwatch capability?

marker227

Apr 6, 2016
Visit site
Hey all,

I wasn't sure which forum to put this under since my question pertains to both fitness and smart watch capabilities.

I currently have a Samsung S7 and a Garmin Forerunner 920XT with their footpod and heart rate monitor. I really enjoy the web interface of Garmin Connect, as we as the ability to load custom workouts created from their data base directly into the watch.

I'm very new to this technology (smartwatches and fitness tracking, etc.) and I'm not too familiar with the different eco-systems each company uses... I went with Garmin because I know their company from basically growing up on their car portable GPS systems. I've always loved their company and their customer service. I'm not aware if other smartwatches can upload their fitness stats to Garmin Connect? So, I'm wondering should I just dump my Garmin watch and go with a different brand and or eco-system? I don't need all the bells and whistles the 920XT offers... I'm not that hardcore with fitness just yet.

I'm looking for a watch that primarily is for fitness such as running and daily walking and that has the ability to be loaded with custom workout plans, for the more intermediate fitness enthusiast. I initially chose the 920XT because it would essentially coach users during a workout on rests, and when to run, etc. I liked that structure a lot. I would highly prefer if the watch had the ability to control Spotify or Google Music at the VERY least (if I can select playlists too from the watch that is a HUGE plus). I'm always going to have my phone with me while working out. Additionally, I would want the workout data to be able to be uploaded to a popular fitness site. I don't know all the top ones, but I know MyFitnessPal is one of them.

I think I can narrow down what is important to me in 3 points:

1. Ability to upload custom community or personal workouts to watch and be coached by it.