Why is my Cached Data 3 GB on Samsung Galaxy S4 and is it safe to delete?

A

AC Question

I keep receiving a message regarding my storage space being full on my Samsung Galaxy s4 that I have only had for ~9 months. When I went into Settings - More - Storage, I see the biggest users of space are:
Applications: 3.73 GB (and I don't even have that many applications!! - side question: Is there a way to delete some of the apps that just came with the phone from Verizon, Samsung, etc. that I don't use? I tried to "uninstall/disable" apps, but some are not even available for this.
Pictures/videos: 1.08 GB and I try to constantly clear this/save to Google cloud
Cached data: 2.99 GB NO idea why this is so high!! After reading several forums on this site, it seems like most are in MB ranges and it sounds like Clearing the Cached Data is not always good.
Miscellaneous files: 6.31 GB of which I understand most is System memory and unfixable.

Thank you in advance. This is my first time posting but I really have faith someone out there can help!

belodion

Co-Ambassador Team Lead
Jun 10, 2014
Visit site
Welcome to AC.

Of those different Storage categories, you can safely clear the Cached Data. It's good practice to do so from time to time because the cached files eventually become corrupted. Opinions will differ, but a weekly cache clear may be a good idea.
Some apps can be uninstalled but others may need you to have root access first. Let us know if you want to do that....there are rooting experts here who will be happy to advise. :)

Posted via the Android Central App

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
Cached data comes in 2 forms.

Some apps cache data so that you don't have to enter something every time you run the app (like your email address or login if you check the "remember me" box) or some other data it has to go fetch every time it stops.