Is android right for me? (A journey of regret from a tech-loving iPhone user)

A

AC Question

Dear android community,

I am what you would consider a techy. I love technology of all kinds and I'm excited by any new tech that hits the market. I have used the iPhone exclusively as my smart phone for years most recently with the iPhone 6+. I love my Mac but my iPhone not so much. I have become bored with its lackluster user experience and rigid restrictions so I decided to jailbreak my phone. The concept was cool but it it just made my phone worse than any thing else.

I am coming to you today in search of some honest opinions for reassurance . I am dying to switch to android but I am scared to leave the reliability of the iPhone. Being a college student I can only buy a phone every three years or so. I want to get an s7 but I've heard they become laggy and never recieve updates

So my question is: Is there an android phone that will be able to last me the next three years?

technifyy

Aug 25, 2016
Visit site
Hi. I used to be an Apple-devices' lover once. But I had the same experience as you did. Apple has more restrictions than Android, making it kinda safe- but boring at the same time. I got my device jailbroken and realized that, it was the worst thing to do! Firstly it was a void of contract (You can always switch back from a jailbreak software), it made my device exposed to vulnerable security flaws and my device lost its charge faster than ever. But the advantage? You could download paid apps for free and customize your device the way you always wanted, but for after paying a heavy price.

However, now I think that Android phones are better than that of Apple's in many ways- there is a huge variety of choice, there is great hardware, screens, resolution, camera and what not? There are like a 100 reasons why Android phones are better than Apple.